• Home
  • Scholarships/Awards


The VEHA Scholarship is currently funded at $1000.00 and is to be awarded to an eligible student, undergraduate or graduate, who is enrolled at a college or university in an environmental health program or a program related to environmental health.  The scholarship winner(s) are awarded each year at the VEHA Annual Spring Educational Conference.


Certificate of Merit

Each National Environmental Health Association affiliate is invited to designate one of its members and/or a team of members to receive a Certificate of Merit from NEHA, thereby nationally recognizing one or a group of their own for outstanding contributions to the profession of environmental health. Recipients are recognized during NEHA’s Annual Education Conference awards program and in the Journal of Environmental Health. To nominate an individual or a team, please email the VEHA Board.  Nominations must be received by May 30.

Environmental Health Professional of the Year

The nominee for the Virginia Environmental Health (EH) Professional of the Year award must be an EH professional currently engaged in the practice of environmental health who has made outstanding contributions to the EH profession and EH programs in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  Nominees must be current VEHA members and should exemplify the values, quality of work, and ethical integrity held in high regard by the EH profession.  Sponsors who make the nomination must also be current VEHA members. This award is presented each year at VEHA’s Fall Educational Conference.  To nominate a deserving EH Professional, submit your nomination form by September 30.  EH Professional of the Year Nomination Form

A. Clark Slaymaker Award

A.Clark Slaymaker was a Virginia Department of Health employee from 1943 to 1970.  He ended his career as the EH Manager (then called Chief Sanitarian) in Alexandria, Virginia.  In 1966 he won NEHA’s prestigious Walter S. Mangold award, the ONLY VDH employee ever to do so.  The nominee for the A. Clark Slaymaker award must be an individual (not an environmental health specialist), association, corporation, or organization not actively engaged in the field of Environmental Health but through related activities has made outstanding contributions to the environmental health profession and environmental health programs in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The individual or individuals who sponsor the nominee must be current members of VEHA.  The A. Clark Slaymaker Award is presented each year at VEHA’s Fall Educational Conference.  The deadline for nomination is September 30.  A. Clarke Slaymaker Award Nomination Form

Virginia Environmental Health is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software